HOW TO INSTALL WEBER 30 DIC **GUIDE**

MightyBoy tech questions and answers.
djflex

Ok everybody I thought I would contribute to our community by giving a how to guide on installing a Weber 30 DIC into a MB.

My Mikuni pretty well died on me and the Car Clinic quoted $504.00 to rebuild it. Upon doing a autopsy on it myself I realised there was way more wrong with it and decided to 'U-P-G-R-E-Y-E-D-D' (from the movie Idiocracy :)http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t7zqwnCR ... re=related) to a Weber.

I am not a Mechanic at all but will try anything and have great patience so here goes.

I sourced a good 30 DIC Weber from http://www.fiaparts.com they are in Melbourne and Garry was a hell of a nice guy to deal with and very helpful.

Fiaparts
46 Alex Avenue
Moorabin VIC 3189
039532 0794

Cost of Carby was $120 plus $22 shipping to QLD (arrived next morning)
Airfilter from WeberPerformance http://www.weberperformance.com.au/prod ... cts_id=756

Whats required:

I have very minimal tools and equipment but managed to borrow some small items from a great neighbour (Thanks Ray)

TOOLS
  • Cordless Drill
    Spanner set
    workbench
    Angle grinder
    Screwdrivers
    Ball Peen hammer (for gasket making of course)
    Protective Eye wear
    Rotary Files for drill
    Drill bits
    Spray bottle
    Kerosine
    3/8 tap
    Locktite
PARTS
  • Weber 30 DIC Carburetor from Fiat 850 spider $120
    Base Plate off your old carby IMPORTANT $Free
    4 x 3/8 UNC Worm screws (at local bolt supplier)$2
    Various brackets from Bunnings (cost aprox $10)
    Assorted screws $15
    New cable connector ($10 at local boat cable shop fitted)
    Ramflo Air Filter - 30 DIC Weber [RF432S] $67.95
    Gasket Paper (Heavy)
    Patience

GETTING STARTED

The three items we need to begin with are the Carby, the old Mikuni base, and the plastic spacer.

MAKING THE ADAPTOR PLATE
Dissasemble the base plate from your old Mikuni and give it a good clean with a wire brush